top of page

Spiritual Surrender: Strangers Smoking & Soulful Stroking

Updated: Apr 25, 2022

I talk to strangers. Everywhere I go, I dare to talk to the people I encounter throughout my day. I say "I dare" because talking to strangers is not something all societies or most communities within a society do freely, especially these days. We're all too afraid of each other; at least, that's how it feels to me, a soul having a human experience this 2022 year in the US of A.

It's not easy for everyone to be themselves outside of their most intimate spaces, let alone share a genuine exchange with a complete stranger. Why do something so risky if/when we don't have to; why would we? It's not exactly easy for me either, but I like people. I always have. And this is one way I get to connect with the vastness of the universe.


After all, we, humans, are fascinating creatures; aren't we? Psychology and the social sciences have always been part of what I like to study, but now that I'm tapping into spirituality, I feel more able to see past the social programming we're all under and the traumas we're all healing from. I see more of the divine each and every time I drop into my heart with people I don't know - especially those most different from me. I think it's called EMPATHY!


I find myself trying to connect with strangers in the brief moments we might share by simply being kind, helpful, and/or just offer friendly vibes to people I may never see again. That's what often happens in a city and cities are where I tend to live. I have plenty of people in my own life to love and share with, but there's something special I feel when I make connections with earthlings that I don't know. They remind of the sacred truth that I am a part of a way larger whole, beyond me and my inner circles.


I'm part of a neighborhood and city and state; part of a generation, a lineage, a nation, a planet. I'm part of the cosmos and everything in it. I'm part of a people and culture and I want us to be nicer to each other. I want us to be kinder, more forgiving, and compassionate. So, I try to stay mindful and to be the change I want to see in our world today. My spirit compels me to do my part to help build bridges and talking to strangers is part of my contribution, especially now. And, what's amazing is that there are many of us out there. I know I am not alone!


Now, don't misunderstand, I know my voice may not always be welcome, even when it's just a friendly greeting and that's fine. I get it. Humans have boundaries (and we're entitled to have them). I respect them. If people don't respond at all or respond differently than I expect, I don't take it personally and I make sure that my next move is either neutral or an attempt to diffuse a potential escalation.


As a general rule, I try to keep in mind that I can't know what's happening in another's life or what they're going through in any given moment; so, however they react, I try not to judge them harshly. After all, the point of the whole exercise is to spread a little joy and kindness. If people can't see it for what it is or don't want it then that's on them; not on me.


I'm not advocating that people do this mind you; cities and/or people can be overwhelming for some folx and if that's the case, then I'd recommend for you to just be grateful to the nature and the things that surround you and comfort you or surprise you. People surprise me and the truth is that, in my experience, talking to strangers has been mostly fun. For most of my life, I've been receptive to engaging with people I don't know that are on opposite ends of certain demographics or perspectives or lived experiences; I mostly welcomed it. That is until everything became so partisan and hostile.


I have less opportunity to talk to folx of different stripes and polka dots now that I work mostly from home and don't have a "work family" that's not my actual family. I have clients and lots of industry friends and colleagues. But, you see, for me it's not about making friends; it's about appreciating the many people out in the world and in my world, which includes strangers on the streets.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That's why when I confirmed it was Earth Day, I decided to go outside as much and as often as I could. Since, I have a dog who is constantly begging to be outdoors, I listened to him and to my gut. I hit the streets and the parks to wish everyone I saw a "Happy Earth Day!"


I live in Roxbury, MA near Jamaica Plain. There's a lot of history in these areas and I love that about living here. Well, today I had many amazing encounters with random people; some whom I've seen before and many others I had not. They were perfect strangers and so was I until I learned some new names and shared mine.


Let's see there's Savannah & Onyx, Melissa & her ball-loving dog, Scout, Franklin & his maybe-jogger owner, and a few other dogs and humans. Oh, and I met an adorable 5-month old beefy-cheeked earthling named Wyatt. I found out that there is an informal neighborhood dog group that I'd heard about but had never run across until today. It was pretty great to be outdoors around lots of great people and their awesome dogs! Together I think we can manifest more dog parks in our neighborhoods. [Did you hear that universe? We will have dog parks for our furry friends.]


There are a ton more dogs than there used to be; COVID definitely pushed many humans to realize an animal companion would be a great addition. And so there are more FUR parents and families around that, I think, this would make the area more receptive to our communities' needs. But, we'll see. Either way, I love that there are sooo many DOG LOVERS around me. I get to say HELLO to many fur parents when I walk through the Southwest Corridor in JP and I love that and so does BARLEY, my fur child. I love him! And his mama, Mary, is beyond obsessed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mary said to me this evening that "Smoking is part of QUEER culture." I know what she means, but I don't know how many others get it. She thinks Butch women smoking cigarettes are sexy. When she said that, I realized I think Hard Femmes who smoke cigarettes are also mighty fine. Neither one of us smokes cigarettes; we know it's not good for our health and we like to TRY to stay as healthy as we can. But we try not to judge anyone that does because WE ALL make not-so-healthy choices in life.


We both smoke pot, but Mary doesn't think it's the same. I agree; it's not intrinsically hot. Neither one of us finds pot smoking sexy; not that it stops us from getting cozy with some bud because it can relax us and can help add to the sexy vibes. And sexy vibes are always welcome in our home. That's how we like to roll. In fact, perhaps when we get around to doing the boudoir photo shoot, I'll bring some cigs with me. I used to smoke Marlboro Lights back when I smoked; back in the 90s. It was a thing many of us did back then.


The last pack I bought was $2.95; it was a cheaper addiction, that's for sure. And as Mary continued to point out, cigarettes offered up an opportunity for strangers to meet. She's not lying. I remember how in the 90s, smoking was being banned out of ALL public spaces, and those of us that smoked were relegated to some outdoor smoking spot. So, if you were an awkward kid that felt lonely and wanted friends, but couldn't muster up the courage to talk to folx and make friends, you're at least able to maybe bum a cig off of a potential friend.


I'm not advocating smoking; I'm just noting that we humans seek out connections with other humans and it seems to be getting harder and harder. Heck, I remember dating post divorce and how scared so many people I knew were. I was never scared because I wasn't seeking out cis-het men (no offense, but y'all know why you're scary), but I understood why everyone seemed on edge. People were often reserved and reticent about sharing too much too soon, which I get, but I was excited to DATE, for real; not to play games. Early on, I wasn't looking for a relationship, but I wanted to get to know people. So, for all the problematic things in the dating world, it was also quite fun.


It was through casual dating that I learned the various ways, we humans communicate verbally and nonverbally. I could identify certain dangers of too much sharing and pitfalls of being too casual, but overall, I appreciated every soulful stroke and caress I shared with strangers, some of whom became friends. And one became my partner; initially bonded over our slutty ways and four years later, we're still together.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


While I was out today, I also met two Gen-Z brujitas, Desiree and Erika. Desiree did a Tarot reading for me and it was spot-on. This was after I was out soaking in some rays and trying my hardest to mediate; it's not easy but I try. I asked the Universe to offer me some guidance around what I needed to know most now and what came back was precisely what I needed to hear. It wasn't good or bad; it was just truth I could resonate with because I know myself well and I try to listen for any and all messages that serve me well.


I was most grateful for these two young siblings and the soulful stroke of luck experienced in that moment. I paid Desiree for her reading even though she said she'd do it for free. Why? Because it's important for me to pay people for their gifts, especially since I know what it's like for your work and talent to go unseen and undervalued. Plus, I believe in the universal laws of energy exchanges. What goes around comes around; treat others like you want to be treated and all of that. I wished them well and perhaps one day I'll see them again. Either way, I thank my angels for delivering me yet another sign that lets me know I'm on the right path for me - a path of resonating with others in the spirit of LOVE.


I guess the moral of all this is to simply acknowledge our natural human need to be in good company with each other and in lieu of family and friends and given our divisive trends, practicing being kind to strangers can serve to remind us that we are not alone and fill our cup a little more. Today was an amazing EARTH DAY!






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page